Available by phone 24 HRS/DAY, 7 DAYS/WEEK

What Are the Penalties of Drunk Driving in Georgia?

Although there are countless factors that can cause an accident – from auto part defects to adverse weather and poorly maintained roads – the vast majority of collisions involve human errors. As such, most crashes are preventable if drivers behave responsibly.

Unfortunately, an alarming number of motorists choose to drive drunk – and other road users suffer the consequences. In Georgia, up to 3,699 people were killed in drunk driving wrecks between 2003 and 2012, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

It is illegal for drivers in Georgia to operate a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. At that BAC level, motorists will notice one or more of these symptoms:

  • Impaired coordination;
  • Difficulty steering;
  • Slower response time; and
  • Poor decision-making.

If you were hurt in a crash with a drunk driver, you may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, property damage and other expenses. Contact a Marietta personal-injury attorney from the Crosson Law Group, LLC to find out if you have grounds for a claim.

A car accident lawyer will evaluate your case, gather evidence, interview witnesses and handle settlement negotiations. If your case goes to trial, Ken Crosson has the litigation experience to represent your interests in court.

Call 678-909-0770 to schedule a free initial consultation. You can also learn more about drunk driving accident lawsuits by visiting USAttorneys.com.

Consequences of Drunk Driving in Georgia

Georgia is one of many states that allow officers to conduct DUI checkpoints. At these stops, officers can administer breath tests and arrest drivers whose BAC is over the legal limit.

According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, drivers who face a first-offense DUI charge in Georgia could face these penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail;
  • Fines between $300 and $1,000;
  • License suspension of up to one year;
  • Up to 40 hours of community service; and
  • A $210 license reinstatement fee.

The penalties are significantly harsher for drivers who are convicted of multiple DUIs. For example, a third DUI conviction within five years may come with:

  • Minimum jail sentence of 15 days;
  • Fines of $1,000 to $5,000;
  • License revocation for five years;
  • Up to 30 days’ community service;
  • Having the driver’s name, photo and address published in a local newspaper;
  • Being declared a habitual violator; and
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation.

What Should I Do If My Friend Insists on Driving Drunk?

If your friend or family member intends to drive drunk, Mothers Against Drunk Driving recommends that you intervene by following these steps:

  • Take a non-confrontational approach;
  • Offer alternative means of transportation such as a sober driver or taxi;
  • Express that you are worried about the person’s safety;
  • Ask the person to stay the night;
  • If necessary, ask a friend to help you intervene; and
  • If all else fails, take the person’s keys.

If you were involved in an accident with a drunk driver in Georgia, contact a Marietta personal-injury attorney from The Crosson Law Group, LLC. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call 678-909-0770 to schedule a free initial consultation.