Available by phone 24 HRS/DAY, 7 DAYS/WEEK

Drugs behind 3-Car Hit and Run, Say Georgia Police

Jesse Lantzer was allegedly under the influence of drugs when he drove into the back of a woman’s car in Marietta, causing her to crash into the truck in front of her.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports that Lantzer fled the scene of the accident and was arrested a few hours later. Police said he showed clear signs of methamphetamine use in the patrol car. Blood tests confirmed that the drug was in his system.

Lantzer faces charges ranging from driving under the influence and following too closely to driving without a license and leaving the scene of a crash.

If you were injured in an accident involving a drunk or drugged driver, contact a personal-injury lawyer from the Crosson Law Group, LLC. You may be entitled to compensation for economic and non-economic damages.

Car accident attorney Ken Crosson will evaluate your accident, gather evidence, interview witnesses and handle settlement negotiations on your behalf. Call 678-909-0770 to schedule a free initial consultation. You can also learn more about injury claims arising from car accidents by visiting USAttorneys.com.

Let’s take a closer look at the penalties of drugged driving in Georgia:

What Are the Consequences of Drugged Driving in Georgia?

Drugged driving is a reckless practice that puts every road user at risk. Despite the dangers, statistics show that impaired driving is deplorably common.

Data from the 2014 National Survey on Drug Use and Health showed that 10 million people reported driving under the influence of illicit drugs during the prior year. About 18 percent of all road deaths are caused by drivers who had drugs in their system at the time, according to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Georgia law states that a driver will be charged with DUI if he or she operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of any drug to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive, or with any amount of a controlled substance present in the body.

Anyone found guilty of a first-offense DUI in Georgia will face the following penalties:

  • A fine of $300 to $1,000;
  • Jail time of 10 days to 12 months;
  • A mandatory minimum of 40 hours of community service;
  • And mandatory participation in a 20-hour risk reduction program.

Drivers who commit the same offense multiple times face harsher penalties: The fines can skyrocket, and the jail term increases dramatically.

Were you injured in a crash with an impaired driver in Georgia? Contact a Marietta personal-injury lawyer from The Crosson Law Group, LLC to discuss your legal options. An experienced car accident attorney will guide you through the claims process.

Ken Crosson will give your case the individual attention that it deserves. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call 678-909-0770 to schedule a free initial consultation.